Orthosphere posts

I’ve put a couple of posts of the Orthosphere lately.

First, a book review of Roger Scruton’s How to be a Conservative.

Second, a consideration of Why people don’t want Muslim immigration.

My reason for returning to the Orthosphere is the new policy that allows a distinction between ephemeral “posts” and more substantive “essays”.  I am a mere culture warrior with no pretense to profundity, and when I’m not culture warring I’m comparing My Little Pony to Star Trek, but I’m pleased that the Orthosphere aspires to higher things.  Now I can do my thing without getting in the way of them doing their’s.

Also, with President Trump’s idiotic belligerence toward Iran, those who told me that we needed to elect Trump to avoid a nuclear war are advised to reconsider my argument for why you shouldn’t vote.  Even more relevant, here’s an old post of mine on why the Republican Party is always going off on crazy tangents.

5 Responses

  1. Even if a (very hypothetical) war with Iran were to be idiotically started, that’s a far cry from war with Russia.

  2. Trump is reknowned as a ‘dealer’. I know more about cattle dealers than any other kind. If you want to buy a cow from one of these characters, anticipate that they will always ask for more than they expect to get.

  3. Does your prediction of nuclear war with Iran feel more or less sure than your insistence that Hillary would win?

  4. > Does your prediction of nuclear war with Iran feel more or less sure than your insistence that Hillary would win?

    Less

  5. That old post and comment thread on Republicans was great.

Leave a Reply

